top of page
  • chrisdumigan

Atanas Ourkouzounov : Kaleidoscores for two guitars : Doberman - Yppan

Updated: Jun 5, 2022

Atanas Ourkouzounov

Doberman- Yppan : Score and separate parts : (12, 6, and 5 pages respectively)

This Hommage to Keith Jarrett for two guitars is based on another work Kaleidoscore for solo guitar that has been around for a decade or thereabouts, and is dedicated to the Duo Palissandre.

Both guitars are to have a dropped D 6th , and a dropped 5th G, and it probably comes as no surprise that the piece is substantially in G Major for a great deal of the time . Not that that makes it easy, for it is in the truest sense of the word an advanced duo, for although the speed marking is 108 crotchets a minute Moderato, everything is in almost continuous semi – quavers in one of the parts , if not both! There is a heavy reliance throughout on hammer –ons and pull- offs as a source of musical flow, and as I stated before the music takes a long time to move from the tonal reference of G, even though everything is constantly flying around .There are many examples of the basic 4/4 being divided up into unusual groupings and ones where off – beat accents and sudden rests take the music, if momentarily, far away from the usual four crotchets to a bar.

After 57 bars a Lento intervenes with generally longer note values and some very jazz- orientated harmonies before the Moderato takes over again, and the music builds up again, similar to the opening section. The coda however takes one into a Calmo section which has the instruction to be played at least 3 times before the final harmonic chords of G played on the 12th and the 5th.

The constant flying of the semi- quavers and the equally continuous flow of hammer-ons and pull-offs in both guitar parts make this a real test of the players. Nevertheless this is an attractive piece of most unusual writing that an exceedingly good pair of players will get much enjoyment from!

Chris Dumigan

6 views0 comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page