top of page
  • chrisdumigan

Konstantin Bliokh : Souvenir Op45 for 4 guitars : DOz

Konstantin Bliokh

Les Productions D’Oz: Score and separate parts (7, 2, 2, 2, and 2 pages respectively)

Ukrainian born Bliokh, has written many works for guitar as well as other non- guitar works , and here he has written a short piece in 2019 for the Kharkiv Guitar Quartet, whose performance can be found on YouTube.

This work is not as difficult as some quartets I have come across, and so you only need to be moderately good to get a lot out of this telling piece.

Marked Allegretto non troppo, it has a main theme that returns a number of times that opens the work, and crosses over 3 of the 4 guitars as it goes. Guitar 4 plays a low and long triad, and then the other three play successively so that the theme is spread over all of them. After the first 8 bars a tiny increase in speed brings the theme, slightly decorated, back again with a steady repeated alternation of two quavers on guitar 4 as a back drop to it. The parts as they continue get a little more animated, but the general feel of this piece is sadness, and emotion. After a general pause a new theme emerges that slowly rises up the finger board, coming again to a general pause. The original theme re – enters with tambora chords this time on guitar 4 .This leads to a D.S. al Coda, where a lot of the previous material has another chance to shine. This then leads to the final coda where the original motto theme, only slightly varied from the beginning suddenly takes a turn into the tonic major, and an almost optimistic ending occurs.

This is a short but nicely written piece, and one that a good quartet, who only have to be moderately advanced will no doubt enjoy!

Chris Dumigan

6 views0 comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page