top of page
  • chrisdumigan

Vittorio Fiorillo  : Tre in Uno : Bergmann :

Vittorio Fiorillo

Bergmann Edition: 6 pages


Italian Fiorillo has his musical hands in a number of different directions, and is also a classical guitarist who has here produced three miniatures, each only one page long.

Arpeggio is a 4/4 piece in E Major, of only 16 bars, the great majority of which is a minim bass note followed by an arpeggiated group of three notes sounding friendly, but nothing too unusual .Then after a fortissimo on a C Major where everything momentarily pauses on a G, the final bars produce an almost jazz like run down the fingerboard, complete with glissandi, and a final pair of harmonic sevenths.

Melodia, is a 2/4 A Major piece of 26 bars consisting of a gentle melody over some longer bass notes, all very nice if a little unsurprising and a again a coda ending in two 7th harmonics

The final piece, Colore, has a dropped D 6th, and is a 4/4 piece in D Major, and in contrast to the two previous pieces, is a touch acidic in its harmonies. This Adagio begins with a D 7th arpeggio, topped by a C#. The piece continues in this way with a few different time signatures, and a 16 bars of content , that never repeats its themes, but rather continues on its way, until a coda , again ending on two harmonic sevenths.

I couldn’t really take to these pieces. They were, in my opinion, a little two short, and in being short, not individual enough to make them worthwhile. Never having seen anything else by this composer, I have no idea how typical the pieces are, but they are not very difficult to play, and others amongst you, may thing they are just fine.


Chris Dumigan

11 views0 comments


bottom of page