top of page
  • chrisdumigan

Colin Edward Lang  : Four Preludes : Bergmann

Colin Edward Lang

Bergmann Edition: 12 pages


Irish – born Lang is a new name to me and so I didn’t know what to expect when I opened the book. The first Prelude is by far the easiest and at only 10 bars and one page in length, it doesn’t last very long. As it is, it is in C Major, with a semi – quaver arpeggio pattern that you will have seen numerous times before, leading to a slightly varied pattern consisting of A minor, F, G, before a run up and down the fingerboard and a close on a C. I must be honest I found it very obvious, and disappointing as a result.

No2 is in a mixture of 6/8 and 7/8 and is an Adagio marked campanella. Again it relies mostly on an arpeggio pattern that changes as the beat does from 7 to 6 Again it is one page of 13 bars long and whilst it was a little trickier because of the rhythm changes, still seemed too short.

No3 is in a mixture of 4/4 and 3 / 4, with an occasional 5/4 and 7/8 and has a repeating pattern of pair of notes surrounded by a bass and a melody line. It has a lot more content and moves around much more than the previous two, and is more demanding as a result.

The longest and hardest is the last one, No4, which is mainly in 5/4 , with a few 6/4, 7/4 and 4/4 bars too and again has a much more varied content that players will find more interesting to play, modulating as it does from A to E Major towards the end.

I found this group a bit of a mixed bag, two quite pleasant and two not very interesting at all. Moreover the two that were more interesting, Nos, 3, and 4  were still not as far as I am concerned on a par with many other works that I see, but you might see these pieces and think quite differently .


Chris Dumigan


8 views0 comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page