• chrisdumigan

Colin Tommis : Treffos Tango for four guitars

Updated: Apr 17, 2021

Colin Tommis

Les Productions D’Oz: Score and separate parts (7, 2, 2, 2, and 2 pages respectively)

This Birmingham –born guitarist was previously a member of the Ian Campbell Folk Group and who now writes, performs, examines, and adjudicates for classical guitar .This latest quartet is relatively short and not too difficult.

This Am Allegro is set at 112 beats a minute, and written in quavers or longer notes, and begins with that very stop – go rhythm on two guitars before it changes to all four guitars. After that the guitar parts swap around quite regularly so that every player gets to play some of everything. Therefore guitars 1 and 2 play up to the 14th fret F# on string 1 whilst guitars 3 and 4 only go up to fret 10, D whilst the chords used in the piece are always friendly and not too demanding.

This is a fun piece that any quartet will enjoy getting their hands on, and as such I can recommend this as something to investigate as possible repertoire for your concert.

Chris Dumigan

2 views0 comments